Caterpillar 259D3 specifications
Compact track loader · D3
Documented market: North America included; document states Am North, EU, APD, ANZP, HRC. Applicability and evidence
Key facts
Both unit systems are shown; the selected one comes first. Brackets mark our approximate conversions.
Imperial units first.
- Operating weight
8,987 lb / 4,076 kgPublished
Base configuration in dimension-page footnote.
Details and evidence for operating weight- Machine width
66.0–69.0 in / 1,676–1,755 mm
Multiple configurations or rating bases. Published figures differ between versions or configurations; no single figure is selected.
- 66.0 in / 1,676 mmPublishedVehicle Width (320 mm/12.6 in tracks)
- 69.0 in / 1,755 mmPublishedVehicle Width (400 mm/15.7 in tracks)
- Engine power
73.2–74.3 hp / 54.6–55.4 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified
Multiple configurations or rating bases. Gross and net power ratings remain separate.
- 74.3 hp / 55.4 kWPublished; unit definition unspecifiedGross Power (SAE J1995:2014)
- 73.2 hp / 54.6 kWPublished; unit definition unspecifiedNet Power (SAE J1349:2011)
- 73.9 hp / 55.1 kWPublished; unit definition unspecifiedNet Power (ISO 9249:2007)
- Rated operating capacity
2,010–3,060 lb / 915–1,390 kg
Multiple configurations or rating bases. 35%, 50% and optional-counterweight ratings remain separate.
- 2,010 lb / 915 kgPublishedRated Operating Capacity at 35% Tipping Load
- 2,870 lb / 1,305 kgPublishedRated Operating Capacity at 50% Tipping Load
- 3,060 lb / 1,390 kgPublishedRated Operating Capacity with Optional Counterweight (at 50%)
- Tipping load
5,745 lb / 2,610 kgPublished
Base configuration without optional counterweight.
Details and evidence for tipping load- Standard hydraulic flow
20 gpm / 76 L/minPublished; unit definition unspecified
Standard hydraulic flow; source writes gal/min without specifying gallon type.
Details and evidence for standard hydraulic flow
Documented applicability
- Documented market
- North America included; document states Am North, EU, APD, ANZP, HRC.
- Model years
- Not established
- Serial range
- Not established
- Evidence
Detailed specifications
Each row keeps its manufacturer label and configuration. Separate rows do not define one combined machine configuration.
Operating weight
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Operating Weight Base configuration in dimension-page footnote. Published: 4076 kg / 8,987 lb | 8,987 lb / 4,076 kgPublished |
Machine width
Source-supported · Published figures differ between versions or configurations; no single figure is selected.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Vehicle Width (320 mm/12.6 in tracks) Vehicle width for the track configuration named in the row, not bucket width. Published: 1676 mm / 66.0 in PDF p. 16 · Dimensions · 259D3 · Vehicle Width (320 mm/12.6 in tracks) | 66.0 in / 1,676 mmPublished |
Vehicle Width (400 mm/15.7 in tracks) Vehicle width for the track configuration named in the row, not bucket width. Published: 1755 mm / 69.0 in PDF p. 16 · Dimensions · 259D3 · Vehicle Width (400 mm/15.7 in tracks) | 69.0 in / 1,755 mmPublished |
Height
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Height to Top of Cab Height to top of cab, not maximum raised height. Published: 2111 mm / 83.1 in | 83.1 in / 2,111 mmPublished |
Length with bucket
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Length with Bucket on Ground Length with bucket on ground. Published: 3486 mm / 137.3 in PDF p. 16 · Dimensions · 259D3 · Length with Bucket on Ground | 137.3 in / 3,486 mmPublished |
Length without bucket / attachment
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Length without Bucket Without bucket; source does not state that every attachment is removed. Published: 2767 mm / 108.9 in | 108.9 in / 2,767 mmPublished |
Engine power
Source-supported · Gross and net power ratings remain separate.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Gross Power (SAE J1995:2014) Gross engine power; Gross Power (SAE J1995:2014). Horsepower type is unspecified. Published: 55.4 kW / 74.3 hp | 74.3 hp / 55.4 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Net Power (SAE J1349:2011) Net engine power; Net Power (SAE J1349:2011). Horsepower type is unspecified. Published: 54.6 kW / 73.2 hp | 73.2 hp / 54.6 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Net Power (ISO 9249:2007) Net engine power; Net Power (ISO 9249:2007). Horsepower type is unspecified. Published: 55.1 kW / 73.9 hp | 73.9 hp / 55.1 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Rated operating capacity
Source-supported · 35%, 50% and optional-counterweight ratings remain separate.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Rated Operating Capacity at 35% Tipping Load 35% tipping-load rating, without optional counterweight. Published: 915 kg / 2,010 lb PDF p. 11 · Operating Specifications · 259D3 · Rated Operating Capacity at 35% Tipping Load | 2,010 lb / 915 kgPublished |
Rated Operating Capacity at 50% Tipping Load 50% tipping-load rating, without optional counterweight. Published: 1305 kg / 2,870 lb PDF p. 11 · Operating Specifications · 259D3 · Rated Operating Capacity at 50% Tipping Load | 2,870 lb / 1,305 kgPublished |
Rated Operating Capacity with Optional Counterweight (at 50%) Optional counterweight, expressly rated at 50% tipping load; counterweight mass is not stated in the row. Published: 1390 kg / 3,060 lb | 3,060 lb / 1,390 kgPublished |
Tipping load
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Tipping Load Base configuration without optional counterweight. Published: 2610 kg / 5,745 lb | 5,745 lb / 2,610 kgPublished |
Standard hydraulic flow
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Loader Hydraulic Flow Standard hydraulic flow; source writes gal/min without specifying gallon type. Published: 76 L/min / 20 gal/min PDF p. 12 · Hydraulic System: 259D3: Standard · 259D3 · Loader Hydraulic Flow | 20 gpm / 76 L/minPublished; unit definition unspecified |
High hydraulic flow
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Maximum Loader Hydraulic Flow High Flow hydraulic configuration; source writes gal/min without specifying gallon type. Published: 112 L/min / 30 gal/min PDF p. 12 · Hydraulic System: 259D3: High Flow · 259D3 · Maximum Loader Hydraulic Flow | 30 gpm / 112 L/minPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Hydraulic pressure
Source-supported · Standard and High Flow pressure rows are retained separately.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Loader Hydraulic Pressure Standard hydraulic system. Published: 23 000 kPa / 3,336 psi PDF p. 12 · Hydraulic System: 259D3: Standard · 259D3 · Loader Hydraulic Pressure | 3,336 psi / 23,000 kPaPublished |
Maximum Loader Hydraulic Pressure High Flow hydraulic system. Published: 23 000 kPa / 3,336 psi PDF p. 12 · Hydraulic System: 259D3: High Flow · 259D3 · Maximum Loader Hydraulic Pressure | 3,336 psi / 23,000 kPaPublished |
Configuration and source notes
- Document edition and build number do not establish a complete model-year or serial-number range. Published unit pairs are retained without calculation.
Source footnotes
PDF p. 16 basis: 75 kg (165 lb) operator, all fluids, two speed, OROPS, 1730 mm (68 in) low profile bucket, 320 mm (12.6 in) tracks, dual flange front idler/single flange rear idler, standard flow hydraulics, mechanical suspension seat, no optional counterweights and manual quick coupler unless otherwise noted; dimensions approximate.
Applies to operating weight, machine width (2 rows), height, length with bucket, length without bucket / attachment, rated operating capacity (3 rows), tipping load.
Net power at flywheel with alternator, air cleaner, muffler/aftertreatment and cooling fan.
Applies to engine power (2 rows).
Manufacturer sources
- Caterpillar: 239D3/249D3/259D3/279D3/289D3/299D3/299D3 XE Compact Track Loaders
AEHQ8269-04 (08-2022) · Inspected .
Inspected PDF pp. 10-12 specifications, p. 16 259D3/289D3 dimensions and configuration footnote, p. 18 299D3/299D3 XE dimensions and footnote, and p. 24 printed regional coverage. Relevant tables and drawings were rendered and visually inspected.
Page 18 width is explicitly labelled 299D3 XE only; it is not assigned to 299D3.
Record reviewed by Codex and Claude (AI-assisted review; no independent human review). Transcription by Codex. 2026-10-28: second comparison of every figure against its cited page, column and row by Claude and AI agents, with the manufacturer documents re-downloaded and rendered (Bobcat pages read in both US and Metric views); corrections recorded in docs/research/wave3a-source-review.md. No independent human review.