Caterpillar 299D3 specifications
Compact track loader · D3
Documented market: North America included; document states Am North, EU, APD, ANZP, HRC. Applicability and evidence
Key facts
Both unit systems are shown; the selected one comes first. Brackets mark our approximate conversions.
Imperial units first.
- Operating weight
11,464 lb / 5,200 kgPublished
Base configuration in dimension-page footnote.
Details and evidence for operating weight- Machine widthNot stated
Not stated in the reviewed source. The inspected p. 18 dimension table labels its only width row 299D3 XE only; it does not state a width applicable to the 299D3.
Details and evidence for machine width- Engine power
95–98 hp / 71–73 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified
Multiple configurations or rating bases. Gross and net power ratings remain separate.
- 98 hp / 73 kWPublished; unit definition unspecifiedGross Power (SAE J1995:2014)
- 95 hp / 71 kWPublished; unit definition unspecifiedNet Power (SAE J1349:2011)
- 95 hp / 71 kWPublished; unit definition unspecifiedNet Power (ISO 9249:2007)
- Rated operating capacity
3,480–5,240 lb / 1,580–2,380 kg
Multiple configurations or rating bases. 35%, 50% and optional-counterweight ratings remain separate.
- 3,480 lb / 1,580 kgPublishedRated Operating Capacity at 35% Tipping Load
- 4,970 lb / 2,255 kgPublishedRated Operating Capacity at 50% Tipping Load
- 5,240 lb / 2,380 kgPublishedRated Operating Capacity with Optional Counterweight (at 50%)
- Tipping load
9,945 lb / 4,520 kgPublished
Base configuration without optional counterweight.
Details and evidence for tipping load- Standard hydraulic flow
23 gpm / 86 L/minPublished; unit definition unspecified
Standard hydraulic flow; source writes gal/min without specifying gallon type.
Details and evidence for standard hydraulic flow
Documented applicability
- Documented market
- North America included; document states Am North, EU, APD, ANZP, HRC.
- Model years
- Not established
- Serial range
- Not established
- Evidence
Detailed specifications
Each row keeps its manufacturer label and configuration. Separate rows do not define one combined machine configuration.
Operating weight
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Operating Weight Base configuration in dimension-page footnote. Published: 5200 kg / 11,464 lb | 11,464 lb / 5,200 kgPublished |
Machine width
Not stated in the reviewed source · The inspected p. 18 dimension table labels its only width row 299D3 XE only; it does not state a width applicable to the 299D3.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
| The inspected p. 18 dimension table labels its only width row 299D3 XE only; it does not state a width applicable to the 299D3. | Not stated |
Height
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Height to Top of Cab Height to top of cab, not maximum raised height. Published: 2125 mm / 83.6 in PDF p. 18 · Dimensions · 299D3/299D3 XE · Height to Top of Cab | 83.6 in / 2,125 mmPublished |
Length with bucket
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Length with Bucket on Ground Length with bucket on ground. Published: 3931 mm / 154.7 in PDF p. 18 · Dimensions · 299D3/299D3 XE · Length with Bucket on Ground | 154.7 in / 3,931 mmPublished |
Length without bucket / attachment
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Length without Bucket Without bucket; source does not state that every attachment is removed. Published: 3189 mm / 125.5 in PDF p. 18 · Dimensions · 299D3/299D3 XE · Length without Bucket | 125.5 in / 3,189 mmPublished |
Engine power
Source-supported · Gross and net power ratings remain separate.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Gross Power (SAE J1995:2014) Gross engine power; Gross Power (SAE J1995:2014). Horsepower type is unspecified. Published: 73 kW / 98 hp | 98 hp / 73 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Net Power (SAE J1349:2011) Net engine power; Net Power (SAE J1349:2011). Horsepower type is unspecified. Published: 71 kW / 95 hp | 95 hp / 71 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Net Power (ISO 9249:2007) Net engine power; Net Power (ISO 9249:2007). Horsepower type is unspecified. Published: 71 kW / 95 hp | 95 hp / 71 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Rated operating capacity
Source-supported · 35%, 50% and optional-counterweight ratings remain separate.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Rated Operating Capacity at 35% Tipping Load 35% tipping-load rating, without optional counterweight. Published: 1580 kg / 3,480 lb PDF p. 11 · Operating Specifications · 299D3 · Rated Operating Capacity at 35% Tipping Load | 3,480 lb / 1,580 kgPublished |
Rated Operating Capacity at 50% Tipping Load 50% tipping-load rating, without optional counterweight. Published: 2255 kg / 4,970 lb PDF p. 11 · Operating Specifications · 299D3 · Rated Operating Capacity at 50% Tipping Load | 4,970 lb / 2,255 kgPublished |
Rated Operating Capacity with Optional Counterweight (at 50%) Optional counterweight, expressly rated at 50% tipping load; counterweight mass is not stated in the row. Published: 2380 kg / 5,240 lb | 5,240 lb / 2,380 kgPublished |
Tipping load
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Tipping Load Base configuration without optional counterweight. Published: 4520 kg / 9,945 lb | 9,945 lb / 4,520 kgPublished |
Standard hydraulic flow
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Loader Hydraulic Flow Standard hydraulic flow; source writes gal/min without specifying gallon type. Published: 86 L/min / 23 gal/min PDF p. 12 · Hydraulic System: 299D3: Standard · 299D3 · Loader Hydraulic Flow | 23 gpm / 86 L/minPublished; unit definition unspecified |
High hydraulic flow
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Maximum Loader Hydraulic Flow High Flow XPS hydraulic configuration; source writes gal/min without specifying gallon type. Published: 121 L/min / 32 gal/min PDF p. 12 · Hydraulic System: 299D3: High Flow XPS · 299D3 · Maximum Loader Hydraulic Flow | 32 gpm / 121 L/minPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Hydraulic pressure
Source-supported · Published figures differ between versions or configurations; no single figure is selected.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Loader Hydraulic Pressure Standard hydraulic system. Published: 23 000 kPa / 3,335 psi PDF p. 12 · Hydraulic System: 299D3: Standard · 299D3 · Loader Hydraulic Pressure | 3,335 psi / 23,000 kPaPublished |
Maximum Loader Hydraulic Pressure High Flow XPS hydraulic system. Published: 28 000 kPa / 4,061 psi PDF p. 12 · Hydraulic System: 299D3: High Flow XPS · 299D3 · Maximum Loader Hydraulic Pressure | 4,061 psi / 28,000 kPaPublished |
Configuration and source notes
- Document edition and build number do not establish a complete model-year or serial-number range. Published unit pairs are retained without calculation.
- The dimension table shares a 299D3/299D3 XE heading; its width row specifically applies only to 299D3 XE and is excluded here. Engine, weight, capacity and hydraulics use the ordinary 299D3 rows, not XE.
Source footnotes
PDF p. 18 basis: 75 kg (165 lb) operator, all fluids, two speed, ride control, enclosed cab with glass door, side windows, air conditioning, air ride seat, advanced display, rearview camera, 850 CCA battery, 2036 mm (80 in) low profile bucket, 400 mm (15.7 in) tracks, dual flange front idler/single flange rear idler, no optional counterweights and manual quick coupler unless otherwise noted; dimensions approximate.
Applies to operating weight, height, length with bucket, length without bucket / attachment, rated operating capacity (3 rows), tipping load.
Net power at flywheel with alternator, air cleaner, muffler/aftertreatment and cooling fan.
Applies to engine power (2 rows).
Manufacturer sources
- Caterpillar: 239D3/249D3/259D3/279D3/289D3/299D3/299D3 XE Compact Track Loaders
AEHQ8269-04 (08-2022) · Inspected .
Inspected PDF pp. 10-12 specifications, p. 16 259D3/289D3 dimensions and configuration footnote, p. 18 299D3/299D3 XE dimensions and footnote, and p. 24 printed regional coverage. Relevant tables and drawings were rendered and visually inspected.
Page 18 width is explicitly labelled 299D3 XE only; it is not assigned to 299D3.
Record reviewed by Codex and Claude (AI-assisted review; no independent human review). Transcription by Codex. 2026-10-28: second comparison of every figure against its cited page, column and row by Claude and AI agents, with the manufacturer documents re-downloaded and rendered (Bobcat pages read in both US and Metric views); corrections recorded in docs/research/wave3a-source-review.md. No independent human review.