John Deere 317G specifications
Compact track loader · G-Series
Documented market: EPA Final Tier 4 / EU Stage IV specification; options and accessories are not available in all regions. Applicability and evidence
Key facts
Both unit systems are shown; the selected one comes first. Brackets mark our approximate conversions.
Imperial units first.
- Operating weight
8,423–8,683 lb / 3,824–3,942 kg
Multiple configurations or rating bases. Published figures differ between versions or configurations; no single figure is selected. Standard and optional track weights remain separate.
- 8,423 lb / 3,824 kgPublishedWith Standard 320-mm (12.6 in.) Track
- 8,683 lb / 3,942 kgPublishedWith Optional 400-mm (15.8 in.) Wide Track
- Machine widthConflicting
65.0–71.5 in / 5 published rows
Conflicting evidence. The p. 6 dimensions and p. 7 equipment list disagree on standard and optional machine widths; every stated track and stance configuration is retained.
- 65.1 in / (1,654 mm)Published · Approximate conversionC Width Without Bucket: With Standard 320-mm (12.6 in.) Track
- 71.5 in / (1,816 mm)Published · Approximate conversionC Width Without Bucket: With Optional 400-mm (15.8 in.) Track
- 68 in / (1,727 mm)Published · Approximate conversion320-mm (12.6 in.) tracks, 1.73-m (68 in.) wide machine stance
- 65 in / (1,651 mm)Published · Approximate conversion320-mm (12.6 in.) tracks, 1.65-m (65 in.) narrow machine stance
- 71 in / (1,803 mm)Published · Approximate conversion400-mm (15.8 in.) tracks, 1.80-m (71 in.) wide machine stance
- Engine power
61–65 hp / 45.6–48.5 kW
Multiple configurations or rating bases. Gross and net ratings use different published standards and remain separate.
- 65 hp / 48.5 kWGross Rated Power (ISO 14396)
- 61 hp / 45.6 kWNet Power (SAE J1349 / ISO 9249)
- Rated operating capacity
2,125 lb / 965 kg
35% of tipping load
Multiple configurations or rating bases. Published figures differ between versions or configurations; no single figure is selected. The 35%, 50% and counterweight ratings remain separate.
- 2,125 lb / 965 kgPublishedSAE Rated Operating Capacity: At 35% Tipping Load
- 3,035 lb / 1,378 kgPublishedSAE Rated Operating Capacity: At 50% Tipping Load
- 2,250 lb / 1,022 kgPublishedSAE Rated Operating Capacity: With Counterweight
The load the manufacturer rates the loader to carry, set as a share of its tipping load.
Details and evidence for rated operating capacity- Tipping load
6,070 lb / 2,756 kgPublished
Details and evidence for tipping load- Standard hydraulic flow
17 gpm / 63 L/min
Standard
Details and evidence for standard hydraulic flow- Hydraulic pressure
3,450 psi / 23,787 kPaPublished
Details and evidence for hydraulic pressure- High hydraulic flowNot stated
Not stated in the reviewed source. The inspected p. 6 Hydraulics table gives only standard pump flow; the p. 7 Hydraulic System equipment list contains no high-flow specification. Pages 2 to 5 print no high-flow figure either.
Details and evidence for high hydraulic flow
Compared with
Documented applicability
- Documented market
- EPA Final Tier 4 / EU Stage IV specification; options and accessories are not available in all regions.
- Model years
- Not established
- Serial range
- Not established
- Evidence
Detailed specifications
Each row keeps its manufacturer label and configuration. Separate rows do not define one combined machine configuration.
Operating weight
Source-supported · Published figures differ between versions or configurations; no single figure is selected. Standard and optional track weights remain separate.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
With Standard 320-mm (12.6 in.) Track 317G: With Standard 320-mm (12.6 in.) Track. Published: 3824 kg / 8,423 lb. PDF p. 6 · Operating Weights · 317G · With Standard 320-mm (12.6 in.) Track | 8,423 lb / 3,824 kgPublished |
With Optional 400-mm (15.8 in.) Wide Track 317G: With Optional 400-mm (15.8 in.) Wide Track. Published: 3942 kg / 8,683 lb. PDF p. 6 · Operating Weights · 317G · With Optional 400-mm (15.8 in.) Wide Track | 8,683 lb / 3,942 kgPublished |
Machine width
Conflicting evidence · The p. 6 dimensions and p. 7 equipment list disagree on standard and optional machine widths; every stated track and stance configuration is retained. The p. 3 text "Narrow-track option slims the 317G down to a maneuverable 65-inch width" agrees with the p. 7 list, against the p. 6 standard-track row.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
C Width Without Bucket: With Standard 320-mm (12.6 in.) Track Dimension table labels this standard 320-mm track. Source row: 1.65 m (65.1 in.) (5 ft. 5 in.); metres and composite feet/inches are not converted. Published: 65.1 in. PDF p. 6 · Machine Dimensions · 317G · C Width Without Bucket: With Standard 320-mm (12.6 in.) Track | 65.1 in / (1,654 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
C Width Without Bucket: With Optional 400-mm (15.8 in.) Track Dimension table optional 400-mm track. Source row: 1.82 m (71.5 in.) (5 ft. 11 in.); metres and composite feet/inches are not converted. Published: 71.5 in. PDF p. 6 · Machine Dimensions · 317G · C Width Without Bucket: With Optional 400-mm (15.8 in.) Track | 71.5 in / (1,816 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
320-mm (12.6 in.) tracks, 1.73-m (68 in.) wide machine stance Standard dot in equipment list; differs from p. 6 standard-track dimension. Published: 68 in. | 68 in / (1,727 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
320-mm (12.6 in.) tracks, 1.65-m (65 in.) narrow machine stance Optional triangle in equipment list; separate narrow stance. Published: 65 in. | 65 in / (1,651 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
400-mm (15.8 in.) tracks, 1.80-m (71 in.) wide machine stance Optional triangle in equipment list; differs from p. 6 optional 400-mm dimension. Published: 71 in. | 71 in / (1,803 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
Height
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
D Height to Top of ROPS Height to top of ROPS. Source row: 1.99 m (78.5 in.) (6 ft. 6 in.); metres and composite feet/inches are not converted. Published: 78.5 in. PDF p. 6 · Machine Dimensions · 317G · D Height to Top of ROPS | 78.5 in / (1,994 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
Length with bucket
Source-supported · Published figures differ between versions or configurations; no single figure is selected. Foundry and construction bucket lengths remain separate.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
B Length: With Foundry Bucket Foundry bucket. Source row: 3.24 m (127.6 in.) (10 ft. 8 in.); metres and composite feet/inches are not converted. Published: 127.6 in. PDF p. 6 · Machine Dimensions · 317G · B Length: With Foundry Bucket | 127.6 in / (3,241 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
B Length: With Construction Bucket Construction bucket. Source row: 3.49 m (137.4 in.) (11 ft. 5 in.); metres and composite feet/inches are not converted. Published: 137.4 in. PDF p. 6 · Machine Dimensions · 317G · B Length: With Construction Bucket | 137.4 in / (3,490 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
Length without bucket / attachment
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
A Length Without Bucket Without bucket, not necessarily every attachment. Source row: 2.63 m (103.0 in.) (8 ft. 7 in.); metres and composite feet/inches are not converted. Published: 103.0 in. PDF p. 6 · Machine Dimensions · 317G · A Length Without Bucket | 103.0 in / (2,616 mm)Published · Approximate conversion |
Engine power
Source-supported · Gross and net ratings use different published standards and remain separate.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Gross Rated Power (ISO 14396) Gross Rated Power (ISO 14396), at 2,600 rpm; horsepower definition is not inferred. Published: 48.5 kW / 65 hp | 65 hp / 48.5 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Net Power (SAE J1349 / ISO 9249) Net Power (SAE J1349 / ISO 9249), at 2,600 rpm; horsepower definition is not inferred. Published: 45.6 kW / 61 hp | 61 hp / 45.6 kWPublished; unit definition unspecified |
Rated operating capacity
Source-supported · Published figures differ between versions or configurations; no single figure is selected. The 35%, 50% and counterweight ratings remain separate.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
SAE Rated Operating Capacity: At 35% Tipping Load 317G, SAE rated operating capacity at 35% tipping load; no other percentage inferred. Published: 965 kg / 2,125 lb. PDF p. 7 · Loader Performance · 317G · SAE Rated Operating Capacity: At 35% Tipping Load | 2,125 lb / 965 kgPublished |
SAE Rated Operating Capacity: At 50% Tipping Load 317G, SAE rated operating capacity at 50% tipping load; no other percentage inferred. Published: 1378 kg / 3,035 lb. PDF p. 7 · Loader Performance · 317G · SAE Rated Operating Capacity: At 50% Tipping Load | 3,035 lb / 1,378 kgPublished |
SAE Rated Operating Capacity: With Counterweight With counterweight; this row does not state a tipping-load percentage or counterweight quantity, and neither is inferred. The p. 7 list marks "Rear counterweights (2), 45.36 kg (100 lb.)" as optional, and p. 4 mentions up to two sets of rear counterweights. Published: 1022 kg / 2,250 lb. PDF p. 7 · Loader Performance · 317G · SAE Rated Operating Capacity: With Counterweight | 2,250 lb / 1,022 kgPublished |
Tipping load
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Tipping Load 317G: Tipping Load; source standard-equipment basis. Published: 2756 kg / 6,070 lb. | 6,070 lb / 2,756 kgPublished |
Standard hydraulic flow
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
Pump Flow, Standard Standard pump flow. The source does not define gallon type. Published: 63 L/m / 17 gpm | 17 gpm / 63 L/minPublished; unit definition unspecified |
High hydraulic flow
Not stated in the reviewed source · The inspected p. 6 Hydraulics table gives only standard pump flow; the p. 7 Hydraulic System equipment list contains no high-flow specification. Pages 2 to 5 print no high-flow figure either.
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
| The inspected p. 6 Hydraulics table gives only standard pump flow; the p. 7 Hydraulic System equipment list contains no high-flow specification. Pages 2 to 5 print no high-flow figure either. | Not stated |
Hydraulic pressure
Source-supported
| Observation and evidence | Value |
|---|---|
System Pressure at Couplers System pressure at couplers. Published: 23 787 kPa / 3,450 psi | 3,450 psi / 23,787 kPaPublished |
Configuration and source notes
- DKAGCTL317 (22-10) is the printed brochure edition, not a machine model-year range; no serial range is established.
- The source does not explicitly establish a North America-only market.
- Dimension rows printed in metres retain only their published inch values because the schema has no metre unit; no calculated millimetres are entered.
Source footnotes
PDF p. 7: Unless otherwise noted, specifications use standard equipment, a full fuel tank and a 79-kg (175-lb.) operator; options and accessories are not available in all regions.
Applies to operating weight (2 rows), rated operating capacity (3 rows), tipping load.
PDF p. 7: Gross power is without cooling fan.
Applies to engine power.
PDF p. 7: Net engine power includes air cleaner, exhaust system, alternator and cooling fan, at standard conditions per SAE J1349 and DIN 6270B, using No. 2-D fuel at 35 API gravity.
Applies to engine power.
Manufacturer sources
- John Deere: 317G Compact Track Loader Specifications
DKAGCTL317 (22-10) · Inspected .
Specification pages 6–7 visually inspected; edition printed on page 8.
The source states EPA Final Tier 4/EU Stage IV and warns that options and accessories are not available in all regions; it does not establish a North America-only market or machine year/serial range.
Record reviewed by Codex and Claude (AI-assisted review; no independent human review). Transcription by Codex. 2026-10-29: second comparison of every figure against its cited page, column and row by Claude and AI agents, with the manufacturer PDFs re-downloaded and the cited pages rendered. No independent human review.